Review: L’Oreal Sublime Bronze Tinted Self-Tanning Lotion

I’m kind of obsessed with things “matching”.  Yes, I know it’s out of style.   Call me a fashion traditionalist. (That’s how you achieve “classic” status, right?)  I will probably never wear multiple patterns in one outfit and I still match my shoes and bags and belts.  But my biggest source of matching-related-stress is my skin tone.  Because I almost always wear makeup (which almost always contains SPF-something) and almost never wear shorts, I end up with a mis-matched collection of skin tones.  So I turn to self-tanning products.  I had several to choose from – this one had a coupon, so it won…

Backstory:  I needed some self-tanner because the one I had in the closet was expired.  I usually use a spray-on type for my legs and a lotion type for my face/chest/neck.  Since I was wearing a dress to an event that evening, I purchased both a spray-on and a lotion self-tanner.  I was going to use this one for my face, etc.  I ended up using the spray for everything (which didn’t work out so well, by the way).

Pros:   Available almost everywhere.  Nice fragrance.  Works OK.  Doesn’t leave a “plastic-y” finish like some do.  Tinted, so it’s easier to see where you’re putting it.

Cons:  Contains parabens.  A little too strongly fragranced.  Way too sparkly (for me).

In Summary:  “Glow” is not the same as sparkle.  I understand the allure of fine glitter.  It looks nice in clubs.  At night.  On young people.  On the rest of us?  Well, it just looks ridiculous.  It’s a shame this product is so very sparkly, because it seemed to work pretty well.  To be fair, I didn’t give it much of a chance.  Once I saw how sparkly it was, I wiped it off immediately.

Rating:  2 out of 5 stars  

Price:  approx. $8

Available at:  mass merchandisers, drugstores, various online stores

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

