Quick Rundown: Facial Cleansing Wipes Reviews

You may be a big fan of facial cleansing wipes/towelettes/cloths.  Whatever you call them, they’re very convenient.  I try to only use them when I’m wearing mineral makeup, because my “regular” foundation is too hard to remove with a wipe.  So, here’s a quick list of the ones I’ve tried, along with a brief review…

Olay Wet Cleansing Cloths (“Normal”)

Price:  $5 – $6 for 30

Pros:  Works pretty well.  Smells nice.  Non-drying.

Cons:  Fragrance is a little strong.

Overall Review:  4 out of 5 stars 

Olay 2-in-1 Facial Cleansing Cloths (“Combination-Oily”)

Price:  $6 for 33

Pros:  Smells nice.  Cleans very well.

Cons: Not “1-step”. Leaves soapy residue on face.  (You’d might as well just wash your face.)

Overall Review:  2.5 out of 5 stars 

Yes to Cucumbers Facial Towelettes

Price:  $7 for 30

Pros:  Gentle.  Pretty effective.  Made of (mostly) natural ingredients.

Cons:  Not the most effective.  More expensive than many others.

Overall Review:  3 out of 5 stars 

Yes to Blueberries “Brightening” Facial Towelettes

Price:  $8 for 30

Pros:  Made of (mostly) natural, anti-aging ingredients.  Works pretty well.  Smells nice.

Cons:  Irritates sensitive/dry skin.  Expensive.

Overall Review:  3 out of 5 stars 

Up & Up (Target brand)  Exfoliating Cucumber Cleansing Towelettes

Price:  approx $5

Pros:  Exfoliating beads help scrub off makeup.

Cons:  Contain parabens.  Over-drying for skin.

Overall Review:  1 out of 5 stars 

Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes

Price:  approx $8 for 25

Pros:  Smell nice.  Work well.  Doesn’t dry out skin.  Soft but durable.

Cons:  Kind of expensive.

Overall Review:  4 out of 5 stars 

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I keep a “yes to cucumbers” in all my gym bags. I like the smell, they are refreshing and not overpowering. I don’t think I’ve seen the blueberry one, is it a powerful scent?

    Reply
    • It smells fruity, but not exactly like blueberries. (Kind of the way fruity cereal smells.) If your skin is even sort of dry or sensitive – or if you’re using an topical products like retinol – I don’t recommend it. I got a sample of the “Cucumbers” one with my order and liked it. Too bad it doesn’t have the berry anti-oxidants…

      Reply
  2. Beka

     /  May 29, 2012

    I use the Olay Sensitive skin wipes and their is no scent, they work great don’t irritate my skin, and they seem to take off my makeup well but I don’t wear very much. I only use them when I’m in a hurry or I take them on vacation a lot. P.s. just discovered your blog, I love it!

    Reply
    • Glad you like the blog. Thanks for the input about the Olay Sensitive wipes. I haven’t tried them. Maybe they’ll be my next purchase – not that I’m running out of face cleansing wipes anytime soon! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

