Review: Origins “Perfect World” Age-Defense Moisturizer

I got this moisturizer with Origins’ Earth Day promotion.  If you brought in a recyclable beauty product container, they gave you a free moisturizer.  Sephora was also doing the promotion.  Yes, I went to both places to get the freebie.  No, I don’t feel bad.  I’ve spent enough money at both stores to get something for free once in a while…

Pros:  UVA & UVB sunscreen in SPF 25.  Oil-free.  Formulated with organic ingredients and 100% natural essential oils.  Paraben and animal ingredient free.  Manufactured using renewable energy. Made in USA.

Cons:  Very expensive.  I’m not fond of the fragrance.  It might be the white tea (I don’t care for that scent).  Feels a little heavy.  (You know – like sunblock…)  While the tube-type container I got as the freebie is great, the actual product (normally) comes in a “tub” type container.  This is a pet peeve of mine because I have fingernails and digging into it would result in the product getting under my nails.  Also, it seems unsanitary to me.  (The upside is you can see how much is left and you have a chance of getting it all out of the container.)

In Summary:  This isn’t a bad moisturizer.    I don’t like how heavy it feels and am not fond of the fragrance, but I don’t hate it.  For me, the container it normally comes in is more of a deal-breaker than anything (even the price).  I mean, what if I wanted to use it at the beach?  I guess I could transfer it to a travel-sized bottle, since it’s such a small amount, anyway.  Also, I’m not actually convinced that it’s a good choice for oily skin, even though it’s oil-free.  (It contains shea butter and some other stuff I would normally shy away from because of my oily skin…)  I don’t really need the SPF so much, since I almost always wear makeup when I’m outside my house, and all my makeup has SPF built-in.  I’ll probably just use it as facial sunblock when I go to the pool.

Rating:  3 out of 5 

Price:  $39.50 for 1.7 oz container

Note:  This product is available in the “Fight Aging Kit” at Sephora.  It costs $39.50, but comes with a cleanser and “skin guardian” in addition to the full-size moisturizer.

Available at:  Sephora, sephora.com, Origins stores, origins.com, beauty.com

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’m totally looking for the “perfect” moisturizer with spf. I hope YOU find one! I also would like it NOT to run into my eyes when I’m running. 🙂

    Reply
    • Oh, so you need SPF and sweatproof and not-horrible-for-skin? That’s a lot to ask! I’ll keep an eye out for you. I do like Boscia’s oil-free moisturizer. It’s only SPF 15 and I don’t know about sweat-proof…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

