Review: Urban Decay De-Slick Oil Control Makeup Setting Spray

I have uber-oily skin.  For some reason (hormones?), it’s gotten worse over the last year or so.  If facial oil could be used as fuel, I’d really be saving on gas right now.   I’m seeing a dermatologist, but I’m still trying “over the counter” products to control the shine, including this one, which I bought in a “travel size”, because it was less of a financial committment…

Pros:  Smells nice.  Convenient container.  Leaping Bunny approved.  Paraben-free.  Feels nice and refreshing.

Cons:  Expensive.  While it says it delivers a “micro fine mist”, it comes in a pump-type spray bottle, so it doesn’t exactly come out perfectly even.  (I’m not sure why they don’t make it in an aerosol.)  Smells like hairspray – I hope this is a coincidence.   You kind of have to use a lot of it to get it to work.  Per instructions:  “Apply just before and again after makeup…2 – 4 times”.   That’s a lot of spraying.  This little bottle won’t last long.

Notes:   This product is made by Skindinavia.  Their “No More Shine” spray is probably the same formula. (It’s the same price.)  This works best if you put it on after foundation and follow up with powder. If you try to put it on after powder, it doesn’t work so well.  I only tested it with liquid foundation.  I suspect that it might affect the application/finished product if used with mineral foundation.  I haven’t tested it in really hot, humid weather yet, so I can’t attest to it’s “weather-proofing” ability.

In Summary:   It helps control my shine somewhat.  (Instead of being shiny in 2 hours, I get shiny in 5 hours, which is an improvement.)    I don’t think it’s a life-changing product or anything.  Basically, I’d buy it if it weren’t so expensive, but I can’t really justify the expense.  I’m going to try using it with the already-purchased “De-Slick in a Tube” lotion (applying lotion before foundation and spray after) to see if that works out.  Wish me luck.

Rating:  3 out of 5 stars  

Price:  $26 – $29 for 4 oz. bottle

Available at:  Sephora, Ulta, urbandecay.com, beauty.com (only $26 here), other online retailers

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

