Why Do I Have to Choose?

I keep trying to be healthier.  I’ve cut WAY back on my caffeine intake (1 or 2 sodas a day – this is impressive, considering I used to drink 6!).  I choose products that contain natural sugar instead of high fructose corn syrup – when I can.  And I keep trying “all-natural” (or “almost all natural”) beauty products…

The Choice:  It seems I have to choose between healthier products that are less-than-stellar and products that contain lots of bad stuff but work great.  No fair!  Why can’t I have natural products that also work great!?!?  Yes, there are exceptions.  But not many that I can think of.

Backstory:  My “Paraben Project” helped me realize that a lot of stuff I use contain parabens.  (Read original post here: https://bridgettsbeautyblog.wordpress.com/2012/03/24/the-paraben-project/)  Some of the products I consider practically indispensable.  Others – well, let’s just say I’m glad to have an excuse to throw them out.  (I don’t like to waste things – even things I don’t like…)

So:  It looks like living a healthier lifestyle means I’m going to have to make an investment – of both money and time.  I’m willing to pay (a little!) more for organic and/or local produce when I can, but I really don’t want to keep shelling out cash for products that don’t work, no matter how much healthier they are.

And:  If I were “shopping my conscience” and also buying products that are truly cruelty-free, I’d be even more limited in what I could buy.  And I’d have to spend a lot of time researching every product before I buy.  Reading those tiny ingredient lists and finding out where it’s made is time-consuming enough!  I’ve already stopped buying Made in China products for two reasons:  1 – Their quality control seems to be seriously lacking.  I’m putting this stuff on my skin.  I’m not taking any chances.  2 – They require animal testing of cosmetics products, by law.  (Read story here:  http://www.abcactionnews.com/dpp/lifestyle/wellness/again-fur-flies-over-animal-testing-of-cosmetics)  The thought of adding anything to the “to-do before I buy” list is exhausting.

What To Do:  I’m taking suggestions.  If you know of any (mostly) natural products that are completely amazing, let me know.  Until then, I’m going to settle for the natural stuff I’ve already bought and keep using the (not even sort of natural) stuff I probably never should have bought.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. They way I look at it, we do the best we can. I make an effort to eat healthy. I make an effort to exercise. I make an effort to buy natural products and organic foods but I’ll never be perfect. I do what I can and what I can afford at the time.

    Reply
    • I agree. I often say that it’s impossible to consume all the food and beverages “they” say we need to stay healthy. I think you have to try to figure out what you’re most at risk for and plan accordingly.

      Reply
    • I agree. I often say that it’s impossible to consume all the food and beverages “they” say we need to stay healthy. I think you have to try to figure out what you’re most at risk for and plan accordingly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

