Review: Yes to Blueberries Brightening Facial Towelettes

I’ve been looking for a replacement for the facial cleansing towelettes I’ve been using, because they contain parabens.  I got these with a bunch of other “Yes to…” products I ordered online.  I chose the blueberry variety because it’s supposed to be anti-aging and said “brightening”. (Who doesn’t want brighter skin?)  I should have chosen a different type…

Pros:   Smells nice (fruity, but not necessarily like blueberries).  Does a great job of removing makeup without drying skin.  Paraben and oil free. Non-comedogenic. Hypoallergenic.  99% Natural. Made from organic blueberries. Biodegradable.  FSC certified.  (For more information on Forest Stewardship Council, go to http://www.fsc.org/vision_mission.html).  Made in the USA.

Cons:  Can slightly irritate sensitive skin.  (This happened to me.)  It contains a lot of fruit-based ingredients, so I guess it was too much acid for my skin.  If you have sensitive skin, try the “Cucumber” variety  or the “Baby Carrots” version if you have VERY sensitive skin.

Summary:  The “Yes To” line of products has 4 varieties of facial cleansing wipes.  “Tomatoes” – for acne-prone skin, “Cucumbers” – for sensitive skin, “Baby Carrots” – designed for babies, but probably good for hyper-sensitive skin, and “Blueberries” – for “mature” skin.  (The “Tomatoes” and “Blueberries” cost $2 more than the other varieties.)  I think I’ll try the cucumber one next, since my skin didn’t like this one.   I’ll probably keep using them until they’re gone and just follow-up with a gentle moisturizer to neutralize the acidity of the fruit ingredients.

Rating:  4.5 out of 5 stars  

Price:  approx $8 for package of 30

Available at:  drugstores, mass merchandisers, drugstore.com, yestocarrots.com, other online retailers

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

