Thumbs-Down: L’Oreal Studio Secrets Professional Color Eye Shadow Quad

Generally, I prefer “prestige” brand eye shadows because they’re finely milled, making them go on more smoothly.  There are a couple “drugstore brands” of eye shadow that I do like, including L’Oreal’s HIP (High Intensity Pigment) collection, which is why I was willing to take a chance on this one…

Pros:  Inexpensive.  Made in USA.  Available almost everywhere.  Lots of colors available.

Cons:  Doesn’t cover very well  – even with my best eyeshadow brush.  Colors aren’t as intense as they look in the container.    The only way to get the colors to look the way they do in the container is to put on a lot of it, which isn’t cost effective and makes your lids look heavy/old.

In Summary:  I’m not sure what “professional” would use this in their “studio”, whether it’s a secret or not.   I won’t be buying it again.  I guess if I had chosen earth tones instead of the purples I really needed (to replace old eye shadows), I could use it for my “faux naturale” look – but that doesn’t really work with violet eye shadow. If you have to buy a L’Oreal eye shadow, go with the HIP stuff.  It works much better and only costs about $1.50 more.

Rating:  2 out of 5 stars 

Price:  approx. $7

Available at:  drugstores, mass merchandisers, drugstore.com

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

