Review: Neutrogena Visibly Even Foaming Cleanser

I don’t really like foaming cleansers, but I wanted to try a Neutrogena product (OK, I had a coupon…) and this one looked like a good choice because it says it “helps naturally brighten skin” and “even tone”.  My skin tone is a little uneven and who doesn’t want brighter skin?  Um, me.  If it means I have to use this product…

Pros:  Inexpensive.  Available almost everywhere.  Nice fragrance.  Cleanses decently well.  Doesn’t irritate skin.

Cons:  Contains parabens (4 different kinds!).  A little too strongly fragranced.  Has exfoliating beads (not advertised on the front of the container!) which means I can’t use it with my Clarisonic machine.  Exfoliating beads aren’t “scrubby” enough to do a great job of exfoliating – they’re just enough to force you to have to work harder to get them all off your face.  Not very foamy for a “foaming cleanser”.

Overall:  The “cons” outweigh the “pros” on this one.  It will probably go into the bathroom closet as a “just in case I ever run out of cleanser” option.  Only because I hate to waste things, not because I ever want to use it again.

Rating:  2.5 out of 5 stars 

Price:  approx $7

Available at: mass merchandisers, drugstores, drugstore.com

Note:  The container for this has changed since I purchased it.  The ingredients haven’t.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

