Be Disloyal

 My loyalty ends the moment I can get a better deal or better service somewhere else (which is why I’ve had three different cell phone providers in the last five years.)  I believe loyalty should only be reserved for your relationships – with other people and your pets, not with products…

Brand Loyalty:  OK, so you found a cleanser or moisturizer you just love.  What do you think the odds are that everything made by that company is as fantastic as the one product you love?  Yeah, it’s pretty unlikely.  And just because they make a kit, doesn’t mean everything in the kit is amazing.  It also doesn’t mean that it’s all the best choice for your skin type or that the only way to get the results you want is by using all the products together.

Store Loyalty:  One of my biggest pet peeves is stores (usually online) that offer “New Customer Discount!” for the first time you shop there.  You know what that tells me?  You don’t value my continued business and I should go be a “new customer” somewhere else.  Use the new customer discount if you find a good deal and it’s the first time you’re shopping there.  The next time you need that product, shop around for a different site that has an ongoing promotion, or a site that has loyalty rewards (and low prices!)

Loyalty to Service Providers:  The same goes with any type of service. I know tons of people who have a hair stylist they love.  Lucky them.   I haven’t had a regular stylist since 2002, and I was paying a ridiculously low price (long story).  So, since I’m not super-picky about my hair, I go where I can get a good deal.  My philosophy: It’s only hair. And mine grows back pretty quickly.  Try out different places by experimenting when you see good deals on savings sites like Groupon and Living Social.  You might just find your new favorite place to get a manicure.  If not, at least you didn’t pay full price.

So Go Ahead:   Be disloyal.  Find the products – not just the brands – that work best for you.  Find the places that give you the best services for the best prices.  Your time and money is valuable.  Don’t waste it by being loyal to products and services that don’t benefit you.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Good points. I love my stylist but she is so hard to get into and not at all convenient for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

