Review: Ole Henricksen Vitamin Plus Moisturizer

I recently had some time to kill in the mall, so I stopped by Sephora to see what recommendations the store associates would have for a good oil-free moisturizer.  I found one I like, but it’s been discontinued.  I have very oily skin and need something that’s not going to make me look like a shiny wreck a few hours after putting it on.  This was one of the high-end products recommended and didn’t cost $85 like one of them did, so I asked for a sample…

Pros:  Smells nice (kind of like Noxema).  Moisturizes well.

Cons:  Very thick.  Not lightweight.  Didn’t mattify as much as I was expecting.  (It says “mattifying”, and “dewy” – seems contradictory…)  Expensive.  Comes in a container that requires you to put your fingers into it.  I find this kind of disgusting, because it gets under my nails and seems unsanitary.

In Summary:  The first time I used it, I guess I put on too much (which is easy to do with its texture) and my face felt disgusting.  The second time, I was able to put on less by using a Q-Tip and placing little dots all over my face and then blending it.  It felt less heavy this time, but still didn’t “mattify” much.  It would be fine if you had normal or maybe combination (not very oily) skin.  And cost about $15 less.

Rating:  3 out of 5 stars 

Price:  $35 for 1.7 oz container

Available at:  Sephora, sephora.com, bloom.com, skinstore.com, other online retailers

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

