When Drying It Out is a Good Thing

With skin like mine (bipolar!), it’s hard to know what’s going to work.  But there’s one thing I have figured out…

Let Your Skin Dry Completely:  It seems like a simple thing, but if you’re like me, you’re usually in a hurry to get your skincare regimen done as quickly as possible.  However, you should be letting your skin dry for 10-15 minutes before you do anything else to it.

The Benefits:  Think about it.  Your skin isn’t completely dry and you’re going to put moisturizer on it.  You’re diluting your moisturizer.  Even worse, if you’re using an acne treatment product, the excess water in your skin can react with the product, making your skin itchy and flaky.  I learned this the hard way when I complained to my dermatologist that the product my regular doctor gave me was making my skin too irritated.  He said, “Are you letting your skin dry 10-15 minutes?”  Um, no.  I guess I should actually read those information sheets that come with my prescriptions…

Don’t Cheat:  Drying your face with a towel isn’t the same as letting it air dry.  You can use a towel if you like that extra scrubby sensation, but it’s not getting your skin 100% dry, so you’re still going to have to be patient.

Manage your time:  Switch your schedule around so you can brush your teeth, clip your toenails, read my blog, or whatever else you need to do while your skin is air-drying.  Wash your face during the last commercial break on the TV show you watch before bed.  You’re smart.  You can figure out how to make it work.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

