Review: Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blush

I had stopped buying cheap blush because the “budget” brands aren’t finely-milled, so they can look “cakey” very easily.  Cheap blush does nothing to compliment already-not-perfect skin.  And, since its job is to “highlight” a part of your face, you want to make sure the part you’re drawing attention to doesn’t look worse than the rest of you.  I was able to get this blush very inexpensively and wanted a pink blush, so I took a chance…

Pros:  Fairly inexpensive.  Comes in several nice colors.

Cons:  OK, I’m just going to say this:  The name is stupid.  It reminds me of the stationery I used to buy in Korea that had motivational phrases like “Your life is a beautiful cloud.”  It’s from the “Dream” line, so that part makes sense, but “bouncy”?!?!  Aside from the silly name there’s something I really don’t like about it.  I didn’t know this when I bought it, but it’s not a cream or a powder, but kind of something in between.   When I went to put my brush into it, it just got kind of gunked up.  I’m a traditionalist when it comes to blush.  Because I’m always wearing foundation when I wear blush, I like powder because it’s easier to apply without messing up the rest of your makeup.   Since this product is kind of half-and-half, I don’t think it blends very well.  Also, I think it’s a little expensive for what it is.  The container is pretty small.

In Summary:  If you like creamy blush, this might be worth trying, but I’m sure you could find something better. Personally, I’m glad I was able to get it with a “double coupon” deal, because I don’t think I’ll be using it very often.

Rating:  2.5 out of 5 stars 

Price:  approx. $7

Available at: mass merchandisers, drugstores

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

