Thumbs-Down: Up & Up Brand Cosmetic Wedges

When I use liquid foundation, I always apply it with “cosmetic wedges” (which I call “makeup sponges”, since that’s all I use them for) to get the coverage I want.  I had a coupon for any Up & Up (Target) brand beauty product.  I decided to get these because I thought I was running out of makeup sponges.  It turns out I wasn’t, which makes my disappointment even greater…

What’s Wrong With Them?  These “wedges” have a very inconsistent texture and are too spongy.

OK, What’s Wrong with That?  I know it seems like sponginess would be what you want from makeup sponges, but here’s how it works:  If it’s too smooth, the makeup won’t soak in at all and it will be like trying to apply it with a piece of rubber.  If it’s too spongy (too many holes), it will absorb all of your makeup and you won’t be able to apply it at all, unless you want to squeeze it out as you go.  That’s probably not going to work out for you.

On the Upside:  I can use these for craft projects.  I guess.  I might be able to use them for eyeliner corrections, but I haven’t tested that theory yet.

What To Look for in a “Cosmetic Wedge”: Ideally, you want a smooth surface texture, but not so smooth that it doesn’t have any texture.  Some contain latex and some don’t, so if you have a latex allergy, be careful with that, too.

The Good News:  You don’t have to spend a lot to get good cosmetic wedges.  The “Studio Tools” brand ones (also sold at Target) are good and only cost around $3 for a pack of 32. I’ve even found some really cheap, off-brand ones at discount stores that I liked, too.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

