Love This! Sultra Seductress Flat/Waving/Curling Iron

I’ve never considered myself to be a very “lucky” person. Sure, I’ve won a handful of prizes in random drawings in my lifetime, but I still don’t think of myself as “lucky”. Until I won this flat/waving/curling iron (hereafter referred to as a flat iron, because that’s all I’ll use it for) in a magazine drawing and it is by far the coolest thing I’ve ever won. Keep in mind, I won a Nintendo Wii and Balance Board a while back…

Background:  I’d been using a mid-range flat iron for a couple years – one with ceramic, tourmaline, blah blah blah. In my mind, I couldn’t justify spending $100 on a “good” flat iron (the only other one I had heard of was Chi brand). I didn’t think there was much difference in how they worked, so what difference did it make? Now that I have a really good flat iron, I know better.

Hot, Hot, Hot:  This thing heats up insanely fast. Seriously – you’d be lucky to grab a cup of coffee in the amount of time it takes to get ready. It maintains its heat very well too, thanks to infrared technology.

Wow!  It makes the job of flat ironing your hair MUCH easier. I really put it to the test by letting my hair air dry, which means it was as wavy as it could possibly be when I started. I was able to straighten all my hair in about half the time it usually takes. Since it usually takes 30-45 minutes, I am very happy to cut that time in half! I have long, thick, wavy hair, so I would guess it would take most people even less time to do theirs. It also does a better job, overall. My hair looks smooth and straight, not straightened. No more tell-tale “start lines” or areas that are more straight than others.

Great Features:  9 foot swivel cord with an attached “wrap” you can use to control the cord when you put it away. Heat protection mat – for your countertop’s sake. The mat has attached ribbons, so it could double as a protective case, if you need it to. (You wouldn’t want your brushes scratching up its pretty finish, now would you?) Auto Shut-Off. After 30 minutes, the iron cools down if you haven’t used it. It also beeps to remind you that you neglected to turn it off.

If I Have To…  If I were forced to find a flaw with this flat iron (other than its price tag), I would say I’m not terribly fond of the controls being on the inside. It seems a little odd to have to put your hands into something that gets so very hot, and if you had arthritis or some other debilitating condition, it might be hard for you to use them. On the other hand, when the controls are on the outside, you’re likely to accidentally hit them while styling your hair.

In Summary:  I’m in love with this flat iron. It works faster and better than any other one I’ve had, and it makes my hair look better. (No more frazzled, frizzy hair!) The only real downsides I see are: 1. I’m going to be increasing my carbon footprint by using it way more often than I used my old flat iron. 2. My teenage daughter and I will probably fight over it. We’ll have to work out some sort of custody agreement…

Price:  $175-$210 (sign up for Sultra.com e-mails to find out about their sales) 

Note:  Other versions  are less expensive.

Available at:  Sephora, Sultra.com, amazon.com

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

