Love This! John Masters Organics Citrus & Neroli Detangler

I have long, thick hair and it thinks tangling is a hobby.  I have to use twice as much conditioner as shampoo to even have a chance of getting it combed in under 15 minutes.  I got a sample of this product with an online order and – to be honest – I didn’t expect much from it.  But I was wrong…

What I Like:  It smells nice.  It has a light citrus-y fragrance.   It really does detangle hair.  It also leaves it softer and more moisturized.  It can be used as a leave-in treatment for very dry hair, or as an extra conditioner/detangler for normal hair.  It’s made without artificial fragrances and colors, petroleum-based ingredients, and parabens.  (By the way:  Neroli is orange blossom extract.)

Unfortunately:  It’s not the most inexpensive product ever made.

However:  The inexpensive stuff I’ve been using is made for kids and smells like it.   Plus, the bottle looks really silly amongst all the “grown-up” products in my bathroom cabinet.

Price:  $16 for 8 fl. oz. bottle – $50 for 35 fl. oz. bottle

Available at: Various online retailers, including bloom, amazon, beauty.com  (Larger size available at www.johnmasters.com)

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I was excited for a minute until I saw the price. Aby’s hair is such a mess! However, at that price point, I think we will stick with the kids stuff b/c she has to use a ton of it for her hair. And at age 10 we can still get away with the kids stuff. 🙂

    Totally unrelated – Any experience with Mission Skincare products? I apologize if I’ve asked previously. I have recently started using several Mission products. I really like the stuff I have tried thus far, especially the lip balmer. I am hoping the moisturizer with spf will work well for running without melting into my eyes and causing them to burn. I’m pretty sure I will know if it’s gonna work after the race in Miami on Sunday.

    Reply
    • Oh, I just remembered that Fantastic Sam’s used to carry a good detangler (it may have been a leave-in conditioner, but it was in a spray bottle) I used to buy it for my daughter. I don’t know if they still carry it or how much it costs. However, it must not have been expensive or I wouldn’t have bought it!

      Reply
  2. I’m not saying the kids’ stuff doesn’t work. I just think I’ve outgrown the desire to smell like strawberries! 🙂 And, yes, the price is kind of steep. I’d recommend finding a website that sells it and then signing up for their e-mails. You might get 20% off or something. (However, sometimes certain brands are excluded from coupons due to the manufacturer’s policies)

    I’ve never hear of Mission Skincare. Where do you get it?

    Reply
    • I got a deal on a Mission Skincare package from my active advantage membership. Otherwise only online unless you live on the west coast. Then I recently stumbled on a few hidden products @ cvs of all places. But they only have a few select items, mostly sunscreen & lip balm. And gaging from its “display”, in the back of the store by the aloe slippers, Im guessing they may not sell much of it so I don’t anticipate them carrying it long term.

      Reply
      • Ah, they have it at drugstore.com (one of my favorite websites!) Several of the items are on sale right now. Looks like they specialize in “athlete” stuff, which is probably why I’ve never heard of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

