Beware of Counterfeit Cosmetics!

I’ve been using Benefit’s “Confessions of a Concealaholic” kit for over a year, and I needed to buy a new one.  I was already ordering some stuff on amazon.com, so I added one to my order.  I was thrilled that it was “on sale” for about $10 less than the original price.  (I honestly thought it was being discontinued or something.) What I didn’t notice is that it was from a “third party seller”, which is sometimes as risky as buying on eBay…

How to Spot a Fake:  If you’re familiar with the product, you might be able to tell right away if it’s counterfeit.  If you’re not, you’re really in trouble.  Below is a photo of the kit I ordered – showing all the ways you can tell the difference.  Differences seem to vary from fake to fake, as countless YouTube videos will prove to you.

Not Just Benefit:  Based on my online research, there are many high-end brands that are being marketed as genuine but aren’t.

Be Suspicious:  If the price is too-good-to-be-true, it probably is.  If the seller has a lot of random products by high-end brands, they’re probably counterfeit.  When shopping on amazon.com, go to the “seller’s store front” and check out what they have.  Had I done this in the beginning, I would have been wary of buying, since they were also selling “Chanel-inspired” earrings and other “inspired” items.

After the Fact:  I wouldn’t recommend using these products on your face.  I’ve heard reports of “Benefit” mascara that smelled like paint and alcohol.  If you can’t get your money back, you should probably throw the stuff away. God knows what’s in it. Just chalk it up to a learning experience and move on. If you buy through eBay or amazon and the seller is giving you a hard time about the refund, I’d contact the website and let them know about the problem.  Chances are, they don’t want to have a reputation for helping people sell counterfeit goods.  I’m also contacting Benefit Cosmetics.  I’m sure they have lawyers who can help make sure products with their name on it really is their product.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Also noticed since I posted this: The “Erase Paste” container is plastic, not glass and the bottom label says “San Francilco CA”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

