Thumbs-Down: H20+ Water-Activated Eye Makeup Remover

I think this product may have been discontinued (It’s still available on amazon.com) but I’m going to review it in case you ever see it and are tempted to buy it…

Background:  I’m in the habit of checking clearance aisles and discount stores like TJ Maxx for premium brands at bargain prices.  I was running out of eye makeup remover anyway, so I picked this one up.  I have some H20+ face moisturizer that I like, so I thought this would be good, too.

The Hook:   I was thrilled that it was available at such a great price ($4.99 at TJ Maxx, usually about $10).  Plus it’s oil-free AND made in USA.

The Let-Down:  I don’t know if maybe I’m just lazy, but it turns out I don’t like adding water to things to make them work right.  I never know how much water to add and it tends to get messy when I do. (I guess I’m clumsy AND lazy!)  In the case of this product, adding water just makes it more watery.  It works OK un-diluted, but whether you add water or not, it just doesn’t work as well as most eye makeup removers – even the cheap ones.

In Summary:  A good deal is only a good deal if the product is a good product.  I’m keeping this around in case my duaghter or I ever run out of eye makeup remover, but I’ll probably just end up throwing it away when I do my next bathroom cabinet purge.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Jen Clymer

     /  February 7, 2012

    I’m lazy too, maybe even more so since I only by make-up remover if it already comes on a wipe.

    Reply
    • Jen Clymer

       /  February 7, 2012

      *buy

      Reply
    • There are some great makeup remover wipes out there. I sometimes “cheat” and use them too, especially if I’m only wearing mineral makeup. I really like Visine’s “Total Eye Soothing Wipes”. They’re a little pricey, but you can get them with coupons or Walgreens/CVS promotions. I cut them in half and use one side of each half per eye. (Trying to be eco/budget-friendly!)

      Reply
  2. Good to know. I always appreciate your reviews. I consider you to be the “expert” in the beauty dpt and am frequently tempted to ask you about things but normally don’t b/c I’m sure you have better things to do than talk about every random product that I come across. :o)

    Reply
    • Actually, Amanda, I DON’T have better things to do. Even if I did, I’d always find time to help out my fellow beauty-product-shop-aholics. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

